Donors can be added to your database by an Admin, online giving, or by Batch entry.
When a donor is added, their profile is created in the database, and an Admin or the donor can edit any information on their profile.
From the People page, search by typing the name of the donor or use the filters for date range, fund or label.
If you're wanting to add an Administrator, add them from the Administrators tab.
The profile has contact information as well as donations and payment methods.
- Edit the person's contact information or add any notes about the person.
- View any donations they've made within a date range or set up recurring donations from the appropriate tab.
- Add a debit/credit card, or set up their bank account.
- Create a new donation on the donor's behalf.
- If donor numbers are enabled in Settings, add or edit a donor number, which will be added in front of the person's name.
Do not delete a donor. Instead, set their status to Inactive in People to remove them.
Donor profiles can be created in multiple ways:
If an Admin needs to set up information on behalf of the donor, they can add the person to the database from the People tab.
Type the name of the person to add then select Create a new person to add information about that person.
From the person's profile page, an Admin can set up payment methods on behalf of the donor.
If they've joined a group or registered for an event, encourage them to use the same email address they used for that. If, however, they created an additional profile, you can merge them.
When a donor gives by check, cash or other payment sources, their donation will be processed in a batch. A counter enters the donor's name to add the donation to the batch. If there's a match in your database, the donation will be added to that record; if there's no match, the counter can add the person by selecting Create a new person.
Add all available information to keep from creating duplicate donors.
If you find duplicates in your account, merge them in the database if you have permissions to access it. Merging two people records will combine the donation history, payment methods, and recurring donations of those two profiles.
Donors should not be deleted from Giving, which results in a completely wiped out history. Instead, set any recurring donations to on hold indefinitely then set their status to Inactive in People, which will remove them from donor list but allow you to find their information by searching.
If donors were created when administrators were testing the application, refund the donations then delete them in People. All their information will be deleted, and it cannot be recovered, so only delete test accounts.
Once the test profiles are deleted, you'll see them in the Donations List with (Deleted) next to their names.
If a donation has been assigned to the wrong donor, or if that donor was deleted, it's easy to reassign the donation to a different donor.