Permissions in Giving

Created on:
Updated on:

Share these articles with people based on their roles in your church to help them get the most out of Giving:

 

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Counter

Reviewer

View settings

Change settings

Update permissions

Create or edit fund

View fund list and labels

Manage labels

View campaign list and overview

View campaign pledges and donations

Create a campaign

Table 1. Batches

 

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Counter

Reviewer

Manage batches or batch groups

Enter donations in "In Progress" batches

Manage "In Progress" batches

Commit batches

Enter donations in committed batch

Manage committed batches


Table 2. Donor Profiles and People

 

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Counter

Reviewer

Manage profile contact information

Access donation history

View People lists

*

*

Search for people

Join donors

Email donors


Table 3. Reports and Statements

 

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Counter

Reviewer

View dashboard

View Stripe payout reports and donation list

Create/edit/generate email statements

Receive donation notifications


Contact Information Permissions

Giving people access to Planning Center depends on their role at your church. Staff and background-checked leaders may have enough trust to access people's information, whether to edit or view, but people outside of that trusted circle should be given lower permissions.

Important

Only organization administrators can edit profile information for people across all Planning Center products.

This table outlines who can access people's contact information based on their permissions in another product.

Can edit

Can view

No access

Account Settings

Organization administrators (in all products)

Billing managers

Calendar

People editor

People viewer

Any Event, Room, or Resource permission

Check-Ins

Editor

Viewer

Headcounter

Giving

Administrator

Bookkeeper

Reviewer

Counter

Groups

Administrator

Leader (based on group settings)

Group type manager (based on group settings)

Member (only people in their group)

People

Manager

Editor

Viewer

Publishing

Administrators

Registrations

Administrator

Manager (only attendees in signup)

Services

Administrator

Editor (based on settings)

Scheduler (based on settings)

Viewer (based on settings)

Scheduled viewer

Organization Administrator-Only Tasks

 

Organization administrators have access to specific parts of Planning Center that no other permission can access, so please familiarize yourself with them as early as possible.

Product

Task

Giving

Enable Church Center to host your donation form

Connect the Stripe Integration to take online payments (done in Account settings)

Services

Choose default permission settings 

Update default settings for the Lyrics & Chords editor 

Create shared email templates 

Add/Remove Music Stand Deactivate two-step verification for a profile 

Give Access

To add a person, go to the Users tab on the People page and select Add User.

add user_arrow.png

Search for the person and select them from the list, or click Create new person.

modal_add person.png

Notice

If you create a new person, enter their contact information before assigning them to a role.

Choose the role, and then select Send Invite Now.

modal_user role.png

When a person is added, they'll receive an email that allows them to set their password and log in.

Important

Emails are sent to the primary email address, except for Account Settings. Account Settings sends an email to every email address listed on an organization administrator or billing manager's profile.

An administrator can quickly change permissions by selecting the pencil next to their name in the Users tab.

edit user role.png

Remove Access

In the Permissions section of the User Profile tab, an administrator can select Edit.

edit user role_arrow.png

Select Remove Access to remove the person's access to Giving.

modal_remove access.png

Removing a person's access will not notify them. When they try to log in, they will encounter an error page.

When someone's access is removed, their activity in the logs and information on their Donor Profile will remain intact. An administrator will receive an email and notification of the change.

Was this article helpful?
19 out of 23 found this helpful